Head on over to Book Riot and check out the 2016 Read Harder Challenge.  Essentially, it’s a checklist to get people to read books they might normally overlook or that are out of one’s comfort zone.  I wish I would have known about it in 2015! (And I’ll probably print out the list from 2015 to see if I read anything on it).

I’ll be posting reviews of all the books I read, anyway, but I figure that the Book Riot list is a good place to get started, and I’ll make sure the books I select are as diversified as possible.  

To the list!


 

  1. Horror Book: White Is For Witching
  2. Nonfiction Book about Science
  3. Collection of Essays: Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns)
  4. Reading a Book Out Loud to Someone Else
  5. Middle-Grade Novel: Neela, Victory Song
  6. Biography (not memoir/autobiography)
  7. Dystopian/Post-Apocalyptic Novel: The Islands at the End of the World
  8. Book Originally Published in the Decade You Were Born (80s!!)
  9. Audiobook that has won an Audie Award
  10. Book Over 500 Pages Long
  11. Book Under 100 Pages Long
  12. By or About a Person Who Identifies as Transgender
  13. Setting in the Middle East
  14. Author from Southeast Asia
  15. Historical Fiction Set Before 1900: Kindred
  16. First Book in a Series by a Person of Color: Akata Witch
  17. Non-Superhero Comic that Debuted in the Last 3 Years: The Best We Could Do
  18. Book Adapted into a Movie (with a debate over which worked more)
  19. Non-Fiction Book About Feminism/Feminist Themes: I Am Malala (The Girl Who Stood Up for Education and was Shot by the Taliban)
  20. Book About Religion (Fiction or Non):
  21. POLITICS (Fiction or Non, Domestic or International): The Reluctant Fundamentalist
  22. Food Memoir
  23. A Play
  24. Main Character with a Mental Illness: Challenger Deep

As I read, I’ll come back to this post and add in the titles I’ve selected to fulfill the challenge.  This will make up a little more than half of the books I intend to read over the course of 2016.  And I’m super-excited!  Join me, if you like :).

