Each month I plan on reading 4 books.  I’ll post a list at the beginning of each month, which will give other people ideas of what to read and also keep me on track!  I’m horribly scatterbrained sometimes, and every new reminder will help me out.

As I complete each book, I will within 24 hours post a review that I’ll link from here, for the purpose of making it easier to find reviews.

January 2016

This month I’m hodge-podging with books from my public library that I’ve already checked out and a book that I already own (thanks, thrift store bag-o-books sales!) but haven’t read yet.

Week One: A Tale for the Time Being by Ruth Ozeki
Diversity Specs: written by a Japanese American about a Japanese-American character with suicidal ideation; incorporates mysticism and Buddhist principles.

Week Two: deadly by Julie Chibbaro
Diversity Specs: although I can’t find enough information on the author to make any determination on her personal level of diversity, it seems as if she’s very well-known for pushing the envelope of issues of diversity in middle-grade literature.  deadly won the 2011 National Jewish Book Award and features a young, female Jewish protagonist in the early 1900s who helps solve the mystery of an epidemic in New York City.  Religious diversity then that challenges gender roles.

Week Three: Neela, Victory Song by Chitra Banerjee Divakaruni
Diversity Specs: written by an Indian-American from the perspective of a young girl in colonial Calcutta who would rather help her country find freedom than worry about securing a good marriage.

Week Four: The Reluctant Fundamentalist by Mohsin Hamid
Diversity Specs: written by a Pakistani native who attended Princeton and Harvard and now lives in London; features a Pakistani protagonist/narrator who revisits his memories of how the 9/11/2001 attacks changed how he was perceived in America and by those closest to him.

