Such great thanks to Napoleon Split for nominating me for this award!!

A little bit about the Liebster award:

The idea of the award is to is to recognize and promote new up and coming blogs of a good standard with less than 200 followers (on WordPress).

liebster-nov4

11 Questions (given by Napoleon Split)

  1. What role has reading played in shaping your daily lifestyle?
    • Holy cow!  I have been reading on a daily basis since I was 4 years old.  I carry a book with me nearly everywhere I go.  I (attempt to) have literary conversations with friends.  I think about books i’m reading or have read.  I make recommendations to others whether they want them or not (yes, I’m that person).  In short, my daily lifestyle is majorly affected by my reading habit.
  2. What was your most transformative read in 2015?
    • It would probably be my reread of Enchantress from the Stars by Sylvia Engdahl.  I initially read that book in college several years ago, and I sought it out again last year and fell in love with it all over again.  I love how she captures the personage of us all, no matter where we are in the evolutionary process.  And it made me reexamine myself and biases and prejudices, etc.
  3. If you could travel to any time period, which would you travel to? Why?
    • The 60s to see women’s lib lift off the ground.
  4. What social issues are you most concerned about? (name 3)
    • Environmental Responsibility
    • Animal Rights
    • Racial Equity & Intersectional Feminism
  5. What was your favorite class in college/high school? (Not a general subject)
    • In high school, I loved most of my classes, especially Art History, AP English, and Chemistry.
    • In college, once again, most of my classes.  Some that stand out are Educational Psychology, History and Structure of the English Language, Young Adult Literature, and Ancient Civilizations.
  6. Name three things that make you happy.
    • Kittens!
    • Reallllllly good books that make me think/laugh/cry.
    • Coffeeshops
  7. Put together a 4 song soundtrack for one of your favorite books.
    • Book:  Good Omens by Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman
      • “Raindrops Keep Falling on My Head” by BJ Thomas
      • “Play the Game” by Queen
      • “The End of the World as We Know It” by Barenaked Ladies
      • “Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds” by The Beatles
  8. If you could travel to any place (real/fictional) where would you travel to?
    • The Restaurant at the End of the Universe 🙂
  9. Name one New Year’s Resolution for 2016.
    • Read a book a week that features diverse perspectives, protagonists, authorship, etc.
  10. You are going on a dangerous and thrilling adventure in a location of your choosing. Choose a 5 person crew to accompany you consisting of characters from different books.
    • Jonathan Strange from Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell. He’s a magician!
    • Elizabeth Bennett from Pride and Prejudice.  She’s sassy and not afraid of anything!
    • Marvin the Robot from Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy.  We all need to come back down to earth every once in a while.
    • Nancy Drew!  Enough said.
    • Polly O’Keefe from A House Like a Lotus.  She speaks 5 languages and understands that life is messy.
  11. Name 3 qualities that make the perfect heroine in a novel.
    • Intelligence
    • Compassion
    • Inner Strength and Fortitude
    • BONUS: Imperfection!

11 Randoms About Myself

  1. I read books on linguistics for fun.
  2. I’m entirely ridiculous about texture in food and will refuse to eat things that are slimy, like large pieces of squash, or yogurt, or puddings.
  3. Vegan!
  4. I complain about my students sometimes, but only because I’m secretly thrilled by their learning, like a grumpy Mary Poppins (from the book, not the Disney movie).
  5. Can’t cook past two or three dishes that took ages to master.
  6. I’ve written a novel that totally sucks but that may see the light of day!
  7. My dream job would be travel writing.
  8. I wish to go on a walking tour of southern Wales.
  9. What I really would love is a piano, a proper one, not electric.
  10. Ummm, it’s hard for me to talk about myself?
  11. I’m uncomfortable in large groups and can get through the experience by pretending to be like my mother!

The Nominations

  1. Books For Julia
  2. BookCurious
  3. Katie & Cat
  4. Writing Haven
  5. Readergirl, Delhi
  6. A Mixed Race Feminist Speaks

Questions for new bloggers:

  1. When did you know you loved reading?
  2. Have you ever met an author you admire?
  3. Who are your favorite writers/sources of inspiration for your own work?
  4. If you could give life for a day to one character from a book, which character would you choose and why?
  5. What do you think of FanFiction?
  6. What trends would you like to see in the literary world?
  7. What started you off blogging?
  8. What message do you wish to impart to your readers?
  9. Do you ever engage in self-discovery exercises?
  10. What advice would you give someone just starting out in discovering new literature?
  11. What is important for today’s youth to consider in their reading selections?

For anyone new to the Liebster Award this is how it works (copied from Napolean Split) –

  • In a post – answer the questions that your nominator posted for his/her nominees.
  • Share 11 random facts about yourself.
  • Make up 11 new fun questions for your nominees.
  • Give some love back to your nominator, include a link back to their blog and their post.
  • You must nominate 5-11 bloggers.
