sunshine-award

Napoleon Split:  Thank you so much for this award nomination!  So glad that my blog brings some sunshine into your life! 😀

The Sunshine Blogger Award is given to those who are inspiring and bring sunshine into the lives of their readers and fellow bloggers. It’s an honor to receive it!

The Award Rules

  • Thank the person who nominated you!
  • Answer the 11 questions you were asked.
  • Nominate 11 other bloggers and let them know they were nominated.
  • Ask the nominees 11 questions

The Questions!

  1. What is one of your favorite words? Why?
    • Persnickety.  It’s fun to say.  If a word is fun to say, I pretty much love it.
  2. What is the third book on your bookshelf (from the left)?
    • The Invitation, A Play in Four Movements created by Dr. Barbara Condron O’Guinn of the School of Metaphysics.  It’s a phenomenal play that I was honored to participate in about creating peace in the world.  The premise of the play is, what would 8 different Nobel Peace Prize Laureates say if they were invited to come together and discuss what makes for peace?  The play seamlessly blends excerpts from the Laureates Nobel Peace Prize Acceptance pieces and the Universal Peace Covenant to create a powerful conversation about the living of peace in our world.
  3. What was your favorite childhood series?
    • So many!  But I’ll choose my top 3.
    • Anne of Green Gables
    • The Babysitter’s Club
    • Nancy Drew
  4. What book would you recommend to everyone to read?
    • Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell!  Seriously, guys.  It’s fantastic.  It won a Hugo award.  It’s period literature set in Napoleonic Wars England, but with an AU feel cause MAGICIANS! And prophecies!  And the Raven King!  And it’s around 1,000 pages long!  With annotations!  Cause the author Susanna Clarke really knows her stuff when it comes to world-building!  And no matter how many times you read it, there’s always so much more to discover!  GO BUY IT NOW.
  5. If you could see any band in the world in concert, who would you see?
    • Hanson.  Hands down.  I grew up pretty sheltered, and Hanson was my first “rebellious” music.  I still love them, but it’s never worked out for me to go see them live.  MMMBop life, ya’ll.
  6. Name your favorite bookstore to visit.
    • Really liked Sandman Books in Punta Gorda, FL.  I love independent bookstores that sell used and new books, and that have nooks and crannies and reading chairs, and bookstore cats, and *sigh* yes.
  7. Name three book to movie (or miniseries) adaptations that you love.
    • Harry Potter (obviously)
    • Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell
    • Sherlock
    • Call the Midwife (not a miniseries, but still so good!)
  8. If you could invite any author over for tea, who would you choose?
    • I’m going to assume that this is “dead or alive” and thus shall choose Madeleine L’Engle.  Her work…I can’t even begin to describe how instrumental her work was in shaping my mind, my philosophies, my own process of self-discovery…she was a Master.  I wrote to her some years ago, before she passed.  I hope she received my letter, which I’m sure was only one of legions.  To have the opportunity to sit with her over tea with softly falling rain outside–I think I would cry the whole time!
  9. Name one way in which the blogging community has changed your life.
    • I’m one of the most introverted people you may ever meet, and sometimes this has led me to despair that “no one gets why these things (environmental responsibility, feminism, diversity, etc) are important!”  Now I know there are those who “get it,” and this has empowered me to have a bold voice in my daily life in speaking out against injustice and empowering others (specifically my students) to examine their own selves in the light of knowledge and to ask the tough questions of themselves.
  10. If you could live anywhere, where would you live?
    • Possibly Wales?  I’m a traveler, a wanderer.  It’s difficult to say!  But I would like to try living there for a while!
  11. What is your favorite book that falls into the genre of mystery/thriller?
    • Any Agatha Christie.  No joke.  Marple, Poirot, Tommy and Tuppence, etc–gah, so awesome!

My Questions for the Nominees

  1. Who are five people who have brought sunshine into your life?
  2. What movements (social, academic, trends or otherwise) have inspired your blogging?
  3. Would you consider yourself a “diverse” person?  Why or why not?
  4. What do you think is the responsibility of non-diverse people (ie, majority groups in society) toward those in minority groups and establishing equity in society?
  5. If you put a soundtrack to your life, what would the Top 5 songs be?  Why these songs?
  6. If money weren’t an issue, what would you choose to do with your life?
  7. Which book from the last year would you most highly recommend to your followers and why?
  8. If you had to categorize your life as a literary genre, which would it be and why?
  9. How do you define friendship?
  10. What do you think it will take to bring about peace?
  11. If you were an animal, which one do you think you would be?

My Nominations

  1. Sabina @ Victim To Charm
  2. Stefani @ Caught Read H&nded
  3. Rinchin @ Readergirl, Dehli
  4. Julia @ Books for Julia
  5. Michelle @ Book Adventures
  6. Katie @ Katie & Cat
  7. Dana and Sonya @ LitLearnAct
  8. Catia @ The Girl Who Read Too Much
  9. Amanda @ Book Curious
  10. NikkiLou @ mixedracefeministblog
  11. Brigette @ Read, Write

I look forward to reading everyone’s responses!  Happy Blogging!

