I’m so behind on my chosen reading list!  I zoomed through Akata Witch, then zoomed even faster through Kindred (which I ordered for my curriculum for next year!) then felt like I needed to take a step back from all the depressed feelings.

That in itself gave me time to examine my own privilege.  As a white woman, I can step back from books describing hatred and injustice and shelter myself.  But some people never get that opportunity.  They are forced to live with it every day.

So this weekend, I’m going to get through my last 2 books for the month: Celia, A Slave, and Black Boy.

In my interlude, I DID read two exceptional books featuring diverse characters, which reviews I will probably post tonight as Bonus Reviews for the month.  I’m really excited about those ones, for real.

Anyway, off to teach!

