Soooo, I’ve not updated this blog in a while, about 6 weeks probably, which is NOT to say I haven’t been reading.  Which I totally HAVE been reading, just not updating, and now I don’t know which books I’ve read and not read for this challenge.  So I guess I have some catching up to do!

I do know that I’d started working on my review of Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe last month, and it stalled out because it was the end of the quarter and grades were due.  That review should be up today.

Also, I inventoried my books at home and have about 30 unread books that fit the criteria of my reading list this year.  So even though it’s really tempting to hang out at the library choosing exciting, fresh reads, I am going to mostly be reading my home collection first.  After all, if I spent the money (at Goodwill or the Salvation Army, most likely) to buy them, I surely need to take the time to read them.

Can I also say I’m super-excited to teach my new curriculum next year?  One thing that really impresses me about this school district is they give us pretty unlimited freedom to plan our own stuff, as long as we’re showing we’re working within state standards.  Next year I’m teaching English Language Arts 1, Transition English (for students who need smaller groups and more of a bridge to high school level ELA), and Creative Writing.  I’m stoked about the new books that my principal let me order, and I’m posting them here to see if anyone has suggestions about activities we could do (I’m not ultra-creative like that, something I’ll willingly admit).

Transitional English
Quarter 1: The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman
Quarter 2: I Will Always Write Back by Martin Ganda and Caitlin Alifirenka
Quarter 3: ????  Totally unsure at this point.  I want to do an American Historical Fiction.  I’m thinking maybe Esperanza Rising or Farewell to Manzanar?  It needs to be at the 7th-9th Grade Reading Level, and I really want something that shows a more diverse perspective than that of the European Pioneers–they get enough of that already.
Quarter 4: Twelfth Night, or What You Will by William Shakespeare

ELA 1
Quarter 1: American Born Chinese by Gene Luen Yang
Quarter 2: I Am Malala (Young Reader’s Edition) by Malala Yousfazi
Quarter 3: Kindred by Octavia E. Butler
Quarter 4: Romeo and Juliet by William Shakespeare

Anyway, that’s all for now.  I think.   I’m sure I’ll think of more later, but until then!

